Welcome to the club forums

Welcome Guest 

Show/Hide Header

Welcome Guest, posting in this forum requires registration.

Pages: [1]
Author Topic: BOP Champs Results 2017
Posts: 119
Post BOP Champs Results 2017
on: May 17, 2017, 10:56

2017 BOP Champs, Thunder Valley, 13th May

It seems to be that lately when we are about to run a key event at Thunder Valley, mother nature sees fit to open up a can of “woop arse” and bash us half to death with some sort of weather event !
This time seemed to be no exception, Friday 12th saw us getting belted around by the spin off from another cyclone passing by. Again another big dump of rain and gale winds in isolated areas saw the lake flood yet again...not quite as bad as the previous 2 or 3 times, but water none the less was lapping at the hotpits beach...
The forecast for Saturday was superb, so we held on with fingers crossed it would come right, and overnight it did...for a change.
With 11 or so entries for the day and quite full fields for each class, then we were in for a great day of racing.
The BOP Champs is basically a BOP Club Race day format, but the titles are winner take all on the day.
As usual we saw a range of great close racing, sometimes too close, aerobatics from hydros that went skyward, monos that nose dived to the depths, and outriggers take on pitlane pole markers at full noise, with the boat coming off second best !
I am not sure if anyone got through the day without some sort of a glitch or issue, so it was good to see all trying to help each other out of the difficult spots they found themselves in.
A special thanks must go to Malcolm Stewart for his all day effort Race Directing, Lap Counting and boat launching, a top job by a top bloke !

Results as follows...

Open Electric
1> P Anderson 1600-- pts
2> J Mills- 1125
3> P Botha- 350

P1 Thunderboat
1> B Clarke - 1550
2> T Christiansen- 1125
3> S Trott - 375
4> P Botha - 50

Open Mono
1> P Anderson- 1400
2> P Botha - 519
3> B Clarke - 450
4> B Mills - 350
5> G Alwyn - 225
6> J Burke - 50

Open Tunnel
1> B Clarke - 1125
2> J Burke - 950
3> B Mills - 650
4> P Botha- 450

Open Hydro
1> S Trott- 1225
2> B Mills- 325
3> D Baker- 100
4> M Lee- 50
5> J Burke- 25

King of the Lake
1> B Clarke
2> B Mills-
3> P Botha-
4> S Trott - DNF

20 Minute Enduro
1> B Mills- 34- laps
2> S Trott- 31
3> T Christiansen- 16
4> B Clarke- 14
5> G Alwyn- 6

Pages: [1]


Latest forum posts

Upcoming events

  • August 15, 2020Taupo 100 Offshore NZOS RND 5
  • August 15, 2020NZMPBA AGM
  • August 23, 2020Rescheduled Darcy Baker Memorial Hydrofest
  • August 29, 2020Marlborough MPBC Speed runs (If sufficent interest)
AEC v1.0.4